All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Goldman Environmental Prize Award

Goldman Environmental Prize

Awards Type : InterNational Award

Organized Country : United States

First Award : 1990

The Goldman Environmental Prize is a prize awarded annually to grassroots environmental activists, one from each of the world's six geographic regions:Africa, Asia, Europe, Islands and Island Nations, North America, and South and Central America. The prize includes a no-strings-attached award of US$150,000 per recipient.Since the Goldman Environmental Prize was established in 1990, a total of $15.9 million has been awarded to 157 honorees from more than 79 countries, as of 2013.The Goldman Environmental Prize is headquartered in San Francisco, California.It is also called as Green Nobel The Goldman Environmental Prize was created in 1990 by civic leaders and philanthropists Richard N. Goldman and his wife, Rhoda H. Goldman.

Richard Goldman died at age 90 in 2010 and was predeceased by his wife. Richard Goldman founded Goldman Insurance Services in San Francisco. Rhoda Goldman was a great-grand-niece of Levi Strauss, founder of the worldwide clothing company.The Goldman Environmental Prize winners are selected by an international jury who receive confidential nominations submitted by a worldwide network of environmental organizations and individuals. Prize winners participate in a 10-day tour of San Francisco and Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony and presentation, news conferences, media briefings and meetings with political, public policy, financial and environmental leaders.In 2013, David Gordon became executive director of the foundation.


Goldman Environmental Prize Awarded
Goldman Environmental Prize Categories