All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Right Livelihood Award

Right Livelihood Award

Awards Type : InterNational Award

Organized Country : Sweden

First Award : 1980

The Right Livelihood Award is an international award to "honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges facing us today."The prize was established in 1980 by German-Swedish philanthropist Jakob von Uexkull, and is presented annually in early December.An international jury, invited by the five regular Right Livelihood Award board members, decides the awards in such fields as environmental protection, human rights, sustainable development, health, education, and peace.

The prize money is shared among the winners, usually numbering four, and is EUR 200,000.Very often one of the four laureates receives an honorary award, which means that the other three share the prize money.Although it is promoted as an "Alternative Nobel Prize",it is not a Nobel prize (i.e., a prize created by Alfred Nobel). It does not have any organizational ties to the awarding institutions of the Nobel Prize or the Nobel Foundation.

Awarded for:

"practical and exemplary solutions to the most urgent challenges facing the world today"

Award Organized By: Right Livelihood Award Foundation


Right Livelihood Award Awarded
Right Livelihood Award Categories