All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Ashoka Mitran Sahitya Akademi Award Awarded In 1996

Ashoka Mitran

Ashoka Mitran

Award Name : Sahitya Akademi Award

Year of Award : 1996

Award for : Literature

Location : Secunderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India


Ashoka Mitran is one of the top writers of Tamil literature and one of the influential figures post-independence. He has published over 200 short stories, eight novels, 15 novellas and a few prose writings. He is also known as a distinguished essayist and critic and at present, serves as the editor of the literary journal "Kanaiyaazhi". He began his literary career with the prize winning play "Anbin Parisu". Other noted works are 18-vadhu Atchakkodu, Appavin Snegidhar, Thanneer and Manasarovar. He received Government of Tamil Nadu award thrice and the "Illakiya Chinthani" award twice in 1977 and 1984. He received Sahitya Akademi Award in 1996 for his work "Appavin Snegidhar", a collection of short stories. Ashokamitran was born as Thyagarajan on September 22, 1931 in Secunderabad, Andhra Pradesh. At the age of 21, he moved to Chennai after the death of his father, where he worked for a decade at the Gemini Studios. Later he poured those experiences in the entertainment world to his work - My Years with Boss. Later in 1966, he became a full time writer. He took up the pseudonym of "Ashokamitran” when he started writing. During 1980’s and later, many of his works were translated to English and several languages. His simple words and ideas expressed in clarity placed him as one of the most influential Tamil writers of present times. 

His novels and short stories are marked by subtle satire and sense of humour in the midst of hardships faced by the characters. 18-vadhu Atchakkodu published in 1977 was loosely based on his life at Secunderabad. Akshara award in 1996, NTR National Literary Award in 2012, Lily Memorial Award in 1992 and K.K. Birla Fellowship during the period 1973-1974 are other major honours received by Ashoka Mitran.