All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Nayantara Sahgal Sahitya Akademi Award Awarded In 1986

Nayantara Sahgal

Nayantara Sahgal

Award Name : Sahitya Akademi Award

Year of Award : 1986

Award for : Literature

Location : Allahābād, Uttar Pradesh, India


Nayantara Sahgal is an Indian writer in English. Her fiction deals with India's elite responding to the crises engendered by political change; she was one of the first female Indian writers in English to receive wide recognition. She is a member of the Nehru–Gandhi family, the second of the three daughters born to Jawaharlal Nehru's sister, Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit. She was awarded the 1986 Sahitya Akademi Award for English, for her novel, Rich Like Us (1985), by the Sahitya Akademi, India's National Academy of Letters. Sahgal was born on 10 May 1927 in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh , India.  As a writer, her published works are mostly novels. From Fear Set Free, A Time to Be Happy, This Time of Morning, Storm in Chandigarh, Sunlight Surrounds You, The Day in Shadow, Indira Gandhi: Her Road to Power, Plans for Departure, Rich Like Us, Mistaken Identity, A Situation in New Delhi and Lesser Breeds are her published novels. Other works are A Voice for Freedom (1977), Indira Gandhi's Emergence and Style (1978) and Prison and Chocolate Cake (memoir, 1954).


Sahitya Akademi Award Awardeds