All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Vairamuthu Sahitya Akademi Award Awarded In 2003



Award Name : Sahitya Akademi Award

Year of Award : 2003

Award for : Literature

Location : Teni, Tamil Nadu, India


Vairamuthu is a famous Indian poet and lyricist who has written verses for a number of Tamil films. His first lyric was written for the film Nizhalgal for the song, Ponmaalai Pozhudhu. By January 2009 he has written more than 5800 songs. He had worked with many music composers like Ilayaraja and A. R. Rahman. He has worked for many box office hits and received a number of awards. Vairamuthu Ramaswamy Thevar was born on 13th July 1953 in Mettur. His parents are Ramaswamy Thevar and Angammal. The family moved to Vadugappatti and the ambience of the village inspired him to write poems. He was influenced by the works of Periyar, Anna, Karunanidhi, Bharathi, Bharathidasan and Kannadhasan. He learned to write Venba with Yappu rules. He studied at Pachiyappa College in Chennai. His first work was Vaigarai Megangal and second work was Thiruththi Yezhudiya Theerppugal. 

He was influenced by Percy Bysshe Shelley, John Keats, Khalil Gibran, Firdausi and Nizami. He has also written novels, essays, travelogue and biography. Some of his works are Innoru Desiya Geetham, Indha Pookkal Virppanaikkalla, Sigarangalai Nokki, Villodu Vaa Nilave, etc. His Thanneer Thesam, Kallikkaattu Idhihasam, Karuvachi Kaviyam, Sirpiye Unnai Sedhukkukiren, Idhuvarai Naan are some of his famous literary works. His Kallikkaattu Idhihasam won him Sahitya Akademi Award for Best Literary Work in 2003. He received President’s award for the Best Lyricist for his song in Mudhal Mariyathai and Roja. Again he got award for his works in Karuththamma, Sangamam, Kannathil Muthamittaal, and Thenmerku Paruvakkaatru. He was awarded Padma Shri in 2003 and Kalamamani Award for his contribution to Tamil literature. He has won National Film Award for Best Lyricist six times.

Vairamuthu Other Awards


Sahitya Akademi Award Awardeds