All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Parimarjan Negi Arjuna Award Awarded In 2010

Parimarjan Negi

Parimarjan Negi

Award Name : Arjuna Award

Year of Award : 2010

Award for : Sports and Games

Location : Jaspur, Uttarakhand, India


Parimarjan Negi is a chess grandmaster (GM) from India, a former Asian and Indian champion. He is also the world's youngest International Master in chess. He was born on 9 February 1993 in Uttarakhand, India. He was granted the Arjuna Award in 2010 by the Government of India. Negi developed the passion for chess right from his childhood. He started playing chess at the tender age of four. Over the passing years, Negi has climbed the ladder of success and has delivered commendable performance in the game, both at the national and international levels. Today, he is one of the prominent names in the field of chess. In 2002, Negi registered his maiden international success, when he won the Asian Under-10 championship at Tehran. In July 2005, he scored his third and final IM norm at the international Open in Sort, Spain, which made him the world's youngest International Master in chess. In the following year, when he earned his third and final Grand Master (GM) norm at the Chelyabinsk Region Superfinal Championship at Satka in Russia, he gained the position of the second youngest Grandmaster ever, second to Sergey Karjakin. By doing so, Negi replaced Pentala Harikrishna, as the youngest ever Indian Grand Master.